Monday, 14 March 2016

Theater Basel | Sleeping Beauty

Sleeping beauty plays at the Theater Basel for the first time in a version by Alejandro Cerrudo.
He takes the audience off into a modern but magical fairytale world, showing us the world in which Aurora is during her long sleep.
She meets a number of mysterious creatures, making it hard to distinguish between good and bad and even harder to ever find a way out.
We think the production is very touching and impressive, already the first scene was very captivating.
Aurora hangs sleeping from invisible strings from the ceiling, behind a curtain of chains, while her lover the prince is desperately running on a treadmill on the other side of the curtain towards her without moving a step forward.
The life music made us feel like in a dream and is perfect for the performance, transporting every emotion and creating excitement and a magnificent atmosphere.
What touched us the most was the redeeming kiss scene, a never-ending kiss during an incredible pas-de-deux and once again we are amazed how beautifully a story can be told through music, dance and movement.

Ayako Nakano as AURORA
Frank Fannar Pedersen as DÉSIRÉ
Jorge Garcia Pérez, Anthony Ramiandrisoa, Ruochen Wang, Armando Braswell as DÉSIRES FRIENDS
Andrea Tortosa Vidal, Dévi-Azelia Selly, Tana Rosas Suné as AURORAS FRIENDS
Jorge Garcia Pérez as CARABOSSE
Camille Aublé, Sol Bilbao Lucuix, Alba Carbonell Castillo, Lydia Caruso, Luna Mertens, Kihako Narisawa, Raquel Rey Ramos, Emma Kate Tilson, Sidney Elizabeth Turtschi, Sara Wikström as THE CATS
Andrea Tortosa Vidal as LITTLE RED RIDING HOOD
Anthony Ramiandrisoa as THE WOLF
Dévi-Azelia Selly, Tana Rosas Suné, Ruochen Wang, Armando BRaswell as THE BLUE BIRDS

dancers by ballet Theater Basel
music played by the symphony orchestra Basel

Guests / guests in the dream / carabosses crew:
Camille Aublé, Sol Bilbao Lucuix, Alba Carbonell Castillo, Lydia Caruso, Maria del Mar, Debora Maiques Marin, Luna Mertens, Kihako Narisawa, Raquel Rey Ramos, Tana Rosas Suné, Dévi-Azelia Selly, Emma Kate Tilson, Andrea Tortosa Vidal, Sidney Elizabeth Turtschi, Sara Wikström, Ruben Dario Banol Herrera , Diego Benito Gutierrez, Armando Braswell, Sergio Bustinduy, Jorge Garcia Pérez, Julia Juarez Castan, Florent Mollet, Jeremy Nedd, Anthony Ramiandrisoa, Piergiorgio Regazzo, Javier Rodriguez Cobos, Gaetano Vestris Terrana, Ruochen Wang

choreography: Alejandro Cerrudo
musical direction: Thomas Herzog
music: P. I. Tschaikowsky, Jean Sibelius, Philip Glass, René Aubry
stage: Bruno de Lavenère
costume: Karen Young
video: Etienne Guiol
light: David Debrinay
dramatic composition: Bettina Fischer

picture © Ismael Lorenzo

No comments:

Post a comment